San Diego Missions

Missions in San Diego

Spanish Missions in San Diego include San Luis Rey and San Diego. Spanish missions were built all along the California coast between 1769 and 1823 making them the oldest structures in California. The Spanish built them in their conquest to convert the indigenous people of California to Christianity and as strongholds for their newly claimed territories. Twenty-one Spanish missions can be found along the 'King's Highway' in California, which is now Highway 101 on the Central Coast and Interstate 5 in Southern California. They are the oldest structures in California. Most of the California Missions are still active churches with museums and gift shops. All have suffered earthquake or fire damage but very few have been left in a damaged state.

Blog See our California Missions blog.

San Diego Missions

San Luis Rey is located off Highway 76 near the 5 in Oceanside. Founded on June 13, 1798 by Padre Fermin de Lasuen, it is the 18th and largest in California and referred to as the 'King of the Missions'. The grounds feature sunken gardens and arched colonnades. California's first peppercorn tree stands where it was originally planted by the Spanish in 1830. The gift shop also features local wines.

Mission San Luis Rey
San Luis, Rey de Francia
4050 Mission Avenue
Oceanside, CA 92057

Map  |   Hotel  |   Website  |   Other Ideas

Mission San Diego de Alcala

The San Diego Mission is located near the intersection of the 8 and 15 freeways. Founded on July 16, 1769 by Padre Junipero Serra, this is the first in California. Originally built near Old Town San Diego and moved to its current, more fertile location. Remained for only five years before an Indian attack destroyed most of it. Today, it is restored to original condition.

Mission San Diego
San Diego de Alcala
10818 San Diego Mission Road
Mission Valley, CA 92108

Map  |   Hotel  |   Website  |   Other Ideas

California Missions Map

California Missions in Order

  1. San Diego Mission
  2. Carmel Mission
  3. San Antonio Mission
  4. San Gabriel Mission
  5. San Luis Obispo Mission
  6. Dolores Mission - San Francisco
  7. San Juan Capistrano Mission
  8. Santa Clara Mission
  9. Ventura Mission
  10. Santa Barbara Mission
  11. La Purisma Mission
  12. Santa Cruz Mission
  13. Soledad Mission
  14. San Jose Mission
  15. San Juan Bautista Mission
  16. San Miguel Mission
  17. San Fernando Mission
  18. San Luis Rey Mission
  19. Santa Ines Mission
  20. San Rafael Mission
  21. San Francisco Solano Mission

California by Region

Carmel Mission Dolores Mission Lompoc Mission San Antonio Mission San Diego Mission San Fernando Mission San Francisco Mission San Gabriel Mission San Jose Mission San Juan Bautista Mission San Juan Capistrano Mission San Luis Obispo Mission San Luis Rey Mission San Miguel Mission San Rafael Mission Santa Barbara Mission Santa Clara Mission Santa Cruz Mission Santa Inez Mission Soledad Mission Ventura Mission San Francisco Los Angeles Orange County San Diego Inland Empire Desert Central Coast Sierra Nevada North Coast Shasta Cascade Gold Country Central Valley